Find us on Facebook

Tuesday, March 3, 2009

India Vs New Zealand 2009, 1st ODI Highlights

Ind beat NZ by 53 runs
India : 273/4 in 38 overs (Dhoni : 84* , Sehwag 77,..)
New Zealand 162/9 in 28 (Gupthill : 69)

India has won the toss and has elected to bat first. Bad start in series regarding the weather condition. The 1st ODI was at first reduced to 36 overs at the start. More rain, made the match more short and its only 28 overs.

Sehwag seems to be in great touch as he has made a 77 of 56 balls before being caught by Taylor of Vettori. Sachin was first to go at 20. But the start was really on before his partner Sachin went out the scores were 69-1 (9.1 ov.). Sachin made 20 runs before he was caught by B McCullum in the bowling of Butter, Captain Dhoni joined Sehwag and both of them went on. Dhoni as till the last ball not out making 84 runs of 89 balls.

After the fall of Sehwag (121-2 in 18.2), the run scoring rate seemed to be lowered. Yuvraj Singh was out for 2 (131-3 in 22.4 ov.). Then came Suresh Raina who made the match go at high for India. S Raina scored a Innings of 66 runs from 39 balls which includes 5 fours and 4 sixes. Dhoni scored his runs with only 6 boundaries. Yusuf Pathan was the last pair with Dhoni who was not out in 20.

Except Butter and Vettori, NZ's bowling attack was powerless. All the bowler's except 2 were over 5 per over. Butter and Vettori took 1 wicket whereas Elloit also join the same party of 1 wicket. Yuvraj Singh was run out.

The match was rain affected again and more overs got reduced. It became now 28 overs for New Zealand and they have to make 216 runs in 28 overs. Lots of expectation from T20 hero B McCullum but it was just false.He went out in 1st over without troubling the runs. Praveen Kumar did all for both opener Bendron and Ryder who made 0 and 11 and team was 22-2 in 7.2 overs.

Martin Guptil and Ross Taylor tried to lift up the team but only for some moments. *88-3 in 15.3 ov.) When Ross Taylor was out for 34. Wickets were falling at a great momentum for NZ. Till the end they lost 9 wickets off 162 runs in 28 overs. Harbhajan Singh was the hero in bowling who took 3-27 off 4 overs and P Kumar 2-28 off 6 overs. Zaheer Khan, Yuvraj Singh and Yusuf athan took one each on their bag.

For the brilliand knock from the Captain, MS Dhoni was awaded the Man of the Match.

Final Scorecard

273/4 (38)
Virender Sehwag c Ross Taylor b Daniel Vettori 7756111137.50
Sachin Tendulkar c Brendon Mccullum b Ian Butler 20232086.96
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (c),(wk) not out 84896094.38
Yuvraj Singh run out (Martin Guptill) 2130015.38
Suresh Raina c Iain O'brien b Grant Elliott 663954169.23
Yusuf Pathan not out 201021200.00
Gautam Gambir

Harbhajan Singh

Praveen Kumar

Zaheer Khan

Munaf Patel

Extras : 4 (b:1, lb:1, nb:2, wd:0)
Total : 273/4 (38) | Curr.RR: 7.18

FOW : Sachin Tendulkar (69-1, 9.4), Virender Sehwag (121-2, 18.2), Yuvraj Singh (131-3, 22.4), Suresh Raina (241-4, 34.6)

New ZealandOMRWNbWdEcon
Kyle Mills70690209.86
Iain O'brien81520006.50
Ian Butler81421005.25
Jacob Oram20190009.50
Daniel Vettori (c)80421005.25
Jesse Ryder30270009.00
Grant Elliott202010010.00
Power Plays : 1-8, 9-12, 29-31

New Zealand
162/9 (28)
Jesse Ryder c Virender Sehwag b Praveen Kumar 11251044.00
Brendon Mccullum (wk) c Harbhajan Singh b Praveen Kumar 05000.00
Martin Guptill c Gautam Gambir b Harbhajan Singh 64705091.43
Ross Taylor c Sachin Tendulkar b Yusuf Pathan 312430129.17
Grant Elliott run out (Virender Sehwag) 111100100.00
Jacob Oram c Mahendra Singh Dhoni b Yuvraj Singh 01000.00
Neil Broom st Mahendra Singh Dhoni b Harbhajan Singh 370042.86
Ian Butler c Munaf Patel b Zaheer Khan 01000.00
Kyle Mills c Virender Sehwag b Harbhajan Singh 02000.00
*Daniel Vettori (c) not out 261530173.33
Iain O'brien not out 380037.50
Extras : 13 (b:0, lb:9, nb:1, wd:3)
Total : 162/9 (28) | Curr.RR: 5.79 | Req.RR: 0.00

FOW : Brendon Mccullum (0-1, 1.5), Jesse Ryder (23-2, 7.4), Ross Taylor (81-3, 15.5), Grant Elliott (111-4, 20.5), Jacob Oram (111-5, 20.6), Martin Guptill (132-6, 23.3), Neil Broom (132-7, 23.4), Kyle Mills (132-8, 23.6), Ian Butler (132-9, 24.1)

Zaheer Khan61201103.33
Praveen Kumar61282024.67
Munaf Patel20140007.00
Yuvraj Singh60421007.00
Yusuf Pathan40221015.50
Harbhajan Singh40273006.75
Power Plays : 1-8, 9-12, 23-24

1 comment:

  1. I wondered by the hell Nz people organised this series and India agreed to it as this is a rainy season. Just check how many time rain interrupted the ind vs nz 3rd odi . this is not good.


No illegal live streaming links. They will be deleted and repeated such comments will force us to register complaints to concerning authorities