Find us on Facebook

Thursday, November 20, 2008

The Champions League twenty20

After a grand success of Twenty20 cricket and the Indian Premier League, the league of champions, Champions league twenty20 has been announced. Known as Champions twenty20 league or simply Champions league, its inspired from the football champions league in Europe. The league includes teams from India, Pakistan, England, Australia and South Africa.Lalit Modi, the chairman of IPL is also the chairman of Champions league. 

Champions league will start on December 3, 2008 and will end  on December 10, 2008. The Grand Finale is to be played in Mumbai on December 10th 2008.

Venues : The league will be played in India in three venues - Mumbai, Bangalore and Chennai,

The teams playing in Champions League twenty20 2008 : Eight cricket teams will be participating in the Champions League. This includes the following teams:

1)The Winner and runner-up of Indian Premier League (IPL) in India
    i)  Rajansthan Royals
    ii) Chennai Super Kings

2)The Winner and runner-up of KFC Twenty20 Big Bash in Australia
   iii)  Victoria Bushrangers
   iv) Western Warriors

3)The Winner and runner-up of Standard Bank Pro 20 Series in South Africa
   v) Titans
   vi) Dolphins

4) The winner of Twenty20 Cup in England
   vii) Middlesex Crusaders
5) The winner of RBS Twenty-20 Cup in Pakistan
  viii) Sialkot Stallions

Note: The runneer-up from England Kent was also included in Champions league but due to     inclusion of two - ICL signed player, Kent was ruled out. Later ECB's suggestion of including Essex, the second runner up was ruled out by Cricket Australia.

The format : The tournament is divided into league stage and knock-out stage. The teams are divided into 2 groups, 4 in each. The runner-ups and winners of the group will advance for the semi-final and finally into the finals of the tournament.

No comments:

Post a Comment

No illegal live streaming links. They will be deleted and repeated such comments will force us to register complaints to concerning authorities